Am I Unlucky To Be An INTP?

Curiosity is also a great motivator. I can wonder if something is possible in the morning, and have my proof by the afternoon.

Being an INTP is unlucky in one sense: I’m not motivated by goals. It’s not just that they’re too distant, though there is that, it’s more that there’s nothing that I want enough in the future to get working now.

On the other hand, the advantage in being an INTP is that I can enjoy the Now. The promise of doing what I enjoy, such as watching a film or going for a walk or taking pictures, is what gets me out of bed.

Curiosity is also a great motivator. I can wonder if something is possible in the morning, and have my proof by the afternoon. I can enjoy life moment-to-moment, which is something that’s more difficult if you’re goal-orientated.

For me, there needs to be an immediate purpose to what I’m doing. If I’m making a video diary, for example, it’s so that I don’t forget how to speak, as a result of being alone so much.

While I read books for enjoyment, it’s also so that I don’t lose my ability to write. I notice that the less I read, the less good I am at forming coherent word lines of what-do-you-call-ems.

I write these blog entries because my mood improves. I keep them brief because too much work makes me unhappy.

I read somewhere that you shouldn’t end a blog on a downbeat note. Or perhaps I just made that up. Anyway, that is what this paragraph is for. Ah, damn it! I thought of a good final sentence to put here, distracted myself by thinking what a great ending it was, and immediately forgot it. If I recall it at some point, I’ll drop it in.

Author: John Layman

Trying to find a way of earning money that doesn't leave me hating every waking minute. Financial score: 2/10. Happiness level: 6/10. :-)

Leave a Reply

